Fig and rhubarb crumble

At the moment I am lucky to have a supply of fresh figs from my neighbours tree! I have been picking the figs when just ripe (to beat the birds) but wasn’t sure what to do with them. I googled recipes, looked up my recipe books but found mainly savoury treats (which I amsure are nice but I was in the mood for a dessert). Eventually I found a recipe for fig pie… but then L forgot the shortcrust pastry when he did the groceries so I had to come up with a new plan. I had stewed rhubarb in the fridge which I thought would be a perfect foil to the sweetness of the figs and a crumble top is simple and quick to make up…

The end result was delicious! Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures but since there are plenty more figs there will probably be another opportunity. Figs were also one of my ‘new ingredients’ for the week, along with swedes… that recipe coming soon.

Fig and rhubarb crumble

Ingredients
– ¾ c brown sugar
– ½ tsp ground ginger
– 10 peeled sliced fresh figs
– Juice of 1 lemon (approx 3 tbsp)
– 1 cup stewed rhubarb

Crumble
– 1 c wholemeal plain flour
– ¾ c brown sugar
– ¾ c quick oats
– 1 tbsp cinnamon
– 2 tsp nutmeg
– ½ tsp ground ginger
– 2/3 c butter, melted
– 2 tsp vanilla essence

1. Marinade figs in brown sugar and lemon juice.
2. Combine flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl until evenly mixed.
3. Melt butter and add vanilla essence.
4. Add butter mix to dry ingredients and mix well using fork. Ensure all ingredients are moist and mixture has a crumbly texture.
5. Spread figs evenly in a large baking dish. Cover with rhubarb. Spread crumble mixture over the top of figs and rhubarb.
6. Bake at 180 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until crumble topping is slightly browned.
7. Serve with yogurt, cream or ice cream!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fig and rhubarb crumble

  1. Pingback: Figs and swedes | Triathlete's garden

Leave a Reply

