Figs and swedes

My two new ingredients to try for last week were fresh figs and swedes.

Figs

With my figs I cooked a Fig and rhubarb crumble

Swedes

The swede, or rutabaga as it is otherwise known was my second new ingredient for the week. The swede is thought to have evolved from a cross between a wild cabbage and a turnip. Rutabagas thrive in colder climates, and became popular in Scandinavia, especially in Sweden, the country that earned them the name “Swedes”. Swedes are rich in beta carotene and easy to prepare. They can be eaten raw or cooked in a multitude of ways (roasted, boiled, steamed, stir-fried, mashed or stewed!). They store for up to a month in the fridge.

I adapted a recipe for Chicken and lentil stew from Anne’s Food for my swedes. I’ll list my ingredients below and my method was the same as the original recipe.

Chicken and lentil stew

Ingredients

  • 2 brown onions
  • 3 medium carrots
  • 3 large swedes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 400 ml chicken stock
  • 6 chicken thighs
  • 1 c green lentils
  • 2 tsp corn flour
  • 2 tsp french mustard
  • 3 sprigs sage

Delicious! Sadly no photos. No time with all the cooking.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

