Chocolate cravings

Although I try to eat relatively unprocessed foods most of the time every day now and then I NEED chocolate! You know what I mean right?! So last week when I was craving chocolate I held it in check for 30 minutes and tried to make a ‘healthy’ alternative.

20120120-090602.jpg

Healthy chocolate muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 c self raising flour
  • 1 1/2 c wholemeal self raising flour
  • 1/2 c flaxseed meal
  • 3 tbsp cocoa
  • 3/4 c milk
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 3/4 c stewed apricot
  • 1 c honey
  • 1/2 c white choc chips
  • 1/2 c muesli

1. Preheat the oven to 160 C and prepare a muffin tray with patty pans or spray with oil.

2. Combine dry ingredients (except choc chips and muesli) in a large bowl. Mix wet ingredient together in a smaller bowl and then add to dry ingredients. Fold in until just combined. Add the choc chips and muesli and fold gently.

3. Cook for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

The muffins were a big success, even L gave them the gobble of approval. However, there were a few things I plan the change next time. For me they could have been ‘chocolatyer’ but I ama chocoholic and can’t get enough so that might just be me! So next time I would add some more cocoa. The ‘crunch’ from the muesli was fantastic so next time I would up it a little more. Perhaps some cereal flakes as well? or even toasted rolled oats? Another very minor problem was that after 2 days the very last muffin was getting quite dry. I salvaged it heated in the microwave with a little topping but next time I would add a little more liquid to the mixture (maybe 1 c soy milk). Another idea I had was the addition of some dates. I am not a fan of dates by themselves but love them in muffins, cakes etc. They add a natural sweetness.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

