Beetroot risotto

I love beetroot! I have just planted out some heirloom beetroot and I’m hoping for a good crop… so long as the dog doesn’t dig it up!

20120319-133521.jpg

But until then lovely fresh beetroot from the farmers markets are on my shopping list each week! I have wanted to make this ever since I read a recipe on a blog a few weeks ago. Unfortunately my filing system is hopeless and not only can i not remember where I read the recipe I can’t find where i have saved it… so I improvised and made my own!

Beetroot risotto

Ingredients

· 4 c stock
· 3 small beetroot, grated
· 1 medium onion, finely diced
· 3 cloves garlic, crushed
· 1 bay leaf
· ¼ c olive oil
· 1 ½ c Arborio rice
· ¼ c red wine
· 1 tbsp butter
· ¼ c grated parmesan
· ¼ c parsley, chopped
· 1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

20120319-155054.jpg

1. Heat oil in a pot on medium heat. Add bay leaf, onion and garlic. Sweat for 4 to 5 minutes until onions are soft. Add rice. Stir for 3 to 4 minutes. Add the beetroot and the wine. Stir for 3 to 4 minutes. Add 2 c stock and simmer for 10 minutes. Stirring each minute or so. Add the remaining stock in ¼ c amounts, stirring each time until absorbed. When the stock is gone the rice should be cooked but firm. Remove from heat. Add the thyme, parsley, parmesan and butter. Stir and serve.

20120319-134313.jpg

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beetroot risotto

  1. Pingback: Corned beef | Triathlete's garden

Leave a Reply

