Trying Paleo again

So I mentioned briefly in my last post that I am trying to eat somewhat Paleo again. I am not the type to be completely rigid about what I eat but since New Zealand my eating habits have definately slid somewhat and past experience has taught me that the easiest and quickest way to get them back on track is to take drastic action rather than try to change gradually. I think when I go for gradual change it is too easy to forget and keep on eating the bad stuff! The Paleo diet (note ‘diet’ as in what we eat rather than ‘Diet’ I’m trying to loose weight) provides a bit of structure to follow and generally fits well with our normal eating habits. But there are some things that definitely don’t fit and on Sunday the number one concern was pancakes… so after google a few Paleo pancake recipes for inspiration I used the ingredients I had (too lazy to go out and get anything – i wanted pancakes NOW) and made 2 types of pancakes. Both were pretty good – I think my favourite was the banana ones but the pumpkin would be better with mroe savoury toppings. No pictures – they got eaten too quickly.

Banana paleo pancakes

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
    20120426-083820.jpg

 

Pumpkin paleo pancakes

  • 1 c almond meal
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 6 tbsp mashed pumpkin

 

Topping

  • frozen berries
  • fresh passionfruit
  • honey
  • almond butter

 

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying Paleo again

  1. yogininoms says:

    these sounds so good!!

Leave a Reply

