Winter warming spicy pumpkin soup

My poor garden: my kale seedlings are struggling to grow bigger than about 10cm and the biggest problem is the dog. She hasn’t dug any up (yet… fingers crossed it stays that way!) but she does trample them all the time zooming around the garden with excitment. Lucky she is small otherwise there would be no hope for recovery! Yesterday I tried to give them some protection by placing old pots with the base cut out around each seedling. FAIL! As L pointed out all I did was paint a target on them. By morning all my pots were on the back porch and my kale was back to being trampled. I’ll need to come up with another solution but I’m out of ideas. A bit of electric fence tape around the whole garden bed perhaps?

Anyhow, I sometimes walk into the city at lunchtime to buy fruit which I leave at work for snacks during the week. Yesterday the fruit shop was offering samples of soup made from their own stock. I tried a spicy pumpkin soup and it was delicious! So I decided to have a go at recreating it at home. I started with the leftover chicken broth from poaching chicken breasts for lunch. To this I added some pumpkin, red capsicum, carrot and spices. I boiled it all up until soft. Put it in the fridge overnight to cool and then processed it in the blender today before heating for dinner. It was delicious! Warm and spicy without being too heavy.

20120418-194521.jpg

Winter warming spicy pumpkin soup

Ingredients

  • 1 litre chicken stock
  • 1 kg pumpkin (approx)
  • 1/3 red capsicum
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  1. Place all ingredients in stock and simmer for approximately 1 hour, or until soft.
  2. Leave soup to cool before processing until smooth in the blender.
  3. Heat before serving! yum

You could easily make this vegetarian by using a vegetable stock – I just happened to have the chicken broth that was too good to go to waste.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

