Salomon XA 20 W backpack review

After my recent post about running to work I was so inspired I started researching a proper runningbackpack. Most forums (and the personal advice from friends) suggested a Salomon backpack and then varying packs depending on the price range. Whilst the Salomon Advanced Skin S-lab looked amazing I don’t think running to work justifies the $200+ price tag. So I settled for “the next best thing” according to many reviews, which was the Salomon XA 20. The XA 20 also has the added advantage of making a women’s specific pack!

It arrived about a week before I left on holidays and it was love at first sight! I think in that week I ran to work nearly every day 🙂 So what do I love about it:

  • plenty of pockets on the waistband etc for storing odds and ends like phone, work pass, keys etc
  • tonnes of space in the backpack!! It is the tardis! Day one I removed the entire contents onto my desk and was amazed at the size of the pile. I can comfortably fit my work clothes and lunch in the pack
  • which leads to the next pro – it sits so comfortably on my back it feels like I am carrying nothing! When I take the bag off and hold it my the strap I’d estimate it weights about 7kg but on my back it all disappears
  • one of the reasons it sits so comfortably is the multitude of adjustments possible to fit the pack to my back
  • another great feature are the compression straps that hold the contents tight even if the pack is empty – no wobbling around!
  • side pockets for bottles if you don’t want to use a bladder
  • separate bladder pocket right on your back to keep the weight central
  • Two awesome colours to choose from!

Cons: very few

  • there is a strange pocket on the front with a drawstring – I’m not sure what you would put here – it is water bottle sized but I feel like a bottle would be right in my face while running. So far I have used it for nick nacks like lip balm and a hankie but that also hasn’t been 100% sucessful because it doesn’t fully close so I lost my lip balm.
  • The straps are very long. When fitted to me I have a lot of excess strap. I think I will need to cut and restitch them to make it easier to reasdjust on the go (at the moment because the ends are so long I have them tucked or tied off in making it a little bit more difficult to quickly readjust)

So a lot of pros and only a few cons, which can probably be managed with a few small adjustments! In fact the pack was so good that a friend (who has another Salomon pack) upon seeing my pack immediately went out and bought one herself for The North Face 100 that is being held this weekend!

This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salomon XA 20 W backpack review

  1. Pingback: What I run in | Triathlete's garden

Leave a Reply

